About the University

Nobel Laureates Associated with the University of Calcutta

Rabindranath Tagore

The Nobel Prize in Literature, 1913

"because of his profoundly sensitive, fresh and beautiful verse, by which, with consummate skill, he has made his poetic thought, expressed in his own English words, a part of the literature of the West"

He was Ramtanu Lahiri Professor of Bengali at Calcutta University from 1932 to 1933

He delivered Convocation Address in 1937. This was the first time that the Convocation Address of Calcutta University was delivered in Bengali

Sir Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman

The Nobel Prize in Physics, 1930

"for his work on the scattering of light and for the discovery of the effect named after him"

He was Palit Professor of Physics at Calcutta University from 1917 to 1934

Amartya Sen

The Bank of Sweden Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, 1998

"for his contributions to welfare economics"

Amartya Sen was a student of Economics (Honours) at Presidency College in Calcutta from 1951 to 1953